facebook

Dropping…More pros than cons?

by:    

I’m a sophomore and I’m ready to drop. I’m noticing more and more girls leave especially before junior/senior year and maybe that’s my sign. It just doesn’t feel worth it anymore. Rush, Bid Day, and freshman year swaps were fun but after that, it went completely downhill. It feels like it’s nothing but drama, nagging, and meetings now. I feel bad that my parents are paying all this money for me to be somewhere where it feels like we’re all hated or at best just treated like a number. I’ve made a couple of good friends all from different “cliques” but it’s not like we’re a whole massive squad of close-knit women. Idk why I feel bad leaving. Pomping sucks, chapter sucks, Rush Week on the other side sucks, mandatory in-house study hours suck when I can just trust myself to do that in the library or my place, philanthropy side is fine but again I can just volunteer on my own time even without a sorority. I also feel like it’s taking up so much of my time that I’m not seeing the outside campus life to it’s fullest if that makes sense. I’m just not seeing the point anymore other than the sorority using us for fines, hours, GPAs, and recruitment.

Has anyone dropped already or is thinking of dropping? Would love to know I’m at least not alone in feeling this way.

Posted By: 222
Page 1 of 2
#1by:    

You are not alone and also it's in every sorority. Freshmen year is when it is most worth it. My roommate's sorority is a lot stricter with rules than mine so she thinks about dropping on a weekly basis. I think about it every few weeks. I've felt excluded so many times so I question why I stay. I am also a sophomore and will stick with it through this year but I don't know if I can handle work week and rush again next year. I have a lot of thinking to do also.

By: truth
#2by: