facebook

Top Sororities for Queer BIPOC?

by: Hiii

I’m an incoming freshman going through recruitment this year, and hoping to get people’s perspectives on the top sororities that prioritize diversity (but aren’t bottom tier). I’m AFAB but use They/Them pronouns and I’m half Black/half Indian, so I really want to end up in a house where I’ll be genuinely accepted and can freely be myself.

I know a few girls in most of the sororities here, so I feel like I have decent connections, but only my friends in Pi Phi and DPhiE have said that I’d fit in there. I haven’t felt comfortable bringing up the topic as much with my friends in higher ranked houses though.

Anytime I’ve seen diversity mentioned on this site or elsewhere, it seems that only lower ranked houses are mentioned, but are there any upper mid or top tier houses that appreciate diversity and extend bids to PNMs who aren’t straight, white females who adhere to stereotypical cisgender norms?

Posted By: Hiii
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: Honest   

To be blunt with you, your race won’t be an issue at most houses; however, your use of they/them pronouns isn’t going to help you. Your post also comes across a bit standoffish/easily offended/extremely liberal, so I’d definitely suggest avoiding discussing diversity (or any other social/political issues) during recruitment.

The only top/mid house you might have a slight chance at is Chi O, but you’d really have to have a ton of friends in the chapter - they care less about looks and image than the other top houses, but they prioritize connections and only take the girls they want. The other top houses have some bi members, with the occasional lesbian, but they all present themselves as typical sorority girls.