facebook

3 choices...

by:    

I am an incoming freshman to A&M, and I really want to get involved in the Greek system. I have narrowed my fraternity choices to ATO, Pike, and BYX (if you do consider them Greek). A little info about myself: I don't drink, but I definitely don't mind that my friends do or being at a party where alcohol is provided. I know, it's crazy, but I really hope that my being sober isn't going to be a problem for pledging. I am Christian, (hence, the BYX consideration). That being said, I'm trying to find a Frat that fits my personality. Here is what I seem to be hearing-

BYX- A bunch of Christian guys. Like to have fun, but some guys can be kinda hipster. Money and career oriented attitudes seem to be frowned upon. (This observation is from personal experience. Definitely does NOT fit my personal attitude. Maybe I met a fluke member.)

ATO- From what I hear, seem to be service oriented. I think theyre new, so maybe theyll be desperate for pledges? Don't know about the personality of the Chapter.

Pike- No idea. From what I hear, they are a lot better than the stereotype Pike is known for. I am not sure of the personality of the chapter either, except that a lot of my sorority friends seem to like them.

Anyway, I am looking for a frat that I will fit into, and one that I hopefully wouldn't end up on national news for some stupid hazing (even though I know that there will probably be hazing now matter what I join). Any help is appreciated, and sorry for the long post!

Posted By: Pledgemaybe?
Page 1 of 1
#1by:    

Try all the mid tier and top tier IFC fraternities. Get to know guys from some of them and decide what you like the most, or where you'll fit in better. At the end of the day fraternities are not all about drinking and partying. We value brotherhood and commitment above everything. It's not something for college term only, it's your choice for life. You want to choose something you won't regret later.

By: aggreek
#2by: