facebook

can a transfer 3rd year student get a sorority bid

by:    

I transferred from a community college in another state. So I'm a 20 year old junior. I will be in college a total of five years, so it is sort of like I'm a sophomore. I really want to rush, but I'm getting mixed signals. Any advice?

Posted By: sorority rush
Page 1 of 1
#1by:    

Thanks for the information.Can tell you all want me to join.

By: okay
by: stop   

Chill out girl, I already answered your question in another post.

By: stop
by: wow   

With that attitude, please don't even consider going through recruitment.

By: wow
#2by:    

You probably won't like the answer I'm going to give you, but I feel like it is going to be really really hard to rush in your position. Lots of sororities have an "upperclassman quota" (normally one or two). That spot tends to go to girls who have never rushed before at miami and transferred (that's why girls who re-rush as sophomores have such a hard time here). It is a HUGE boost to sophomores rushing if they are willing to live in the sorority dorms-- just saying.

However, as a junior, even though you are functionally a sophomore, it will be really hard for most sororities to rationalize giving you a bid. Not because there is anything wrong with you (seriously please try to understand this, i'm just trying to make sure you know what you're in for and what the thought process is going to be from most sororities) but because the likelihood of you staying active in your sorority is statistically tiny.